*note: this is completely fictional! If you haven’t read chapter 1 yet, please do so!*

Sylvia Sage works at the public library.  She is tall, blond, and pretty, not to mention smart.  She has read almost every cyber-book in the library.  As Vivian and I walk into the large, glass building, Sylvia greets us.

“Welcome, girls,” she says. “Anything I can help you with?”

“No thank you,” I reply.  No sooner does Vivian drag me into the kids’ section.  The shelves are lined with small cyber-books, made for little kids.  I grab my sister before she runs away.

“I’ll be in the history section,” I whisper. “Now run along.”  She skips over to the play area.  I turn around and walk across the gray marble floor, into the endless maze of shelves.  As I skim through some of the history books, something catches my eye.  Between “The History of Kantor City” and “Technology Today” is a small book.  Not a cyber-book, but a small, paper book, like in the old days.  I pull it out and gasp.  On the cover is a picture of a black, scaly snake with beady red eyes.  I assume that it is a cobra.  I am terrified.  There is one major rule in Kantor City: No snakes allowed. Ever.  Still scared, I flip to the first page. It reads, “The Viper Within:  A great power.”  My hands suddenly burn and I go blind for a couple of seconds.  I open my eyes and I am on the floor, with the book next to me.

“My name is Viper,” I mumble to myself. My heart nearly stops. “I can’t be named after a snake! No, no, no!” I get up off the cold, white, marble floor and run as fast as my legs can carry me.